Welcome to Reader's World

reader1209's diary

...curl up, snuggle in and get to reading...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Here's some money & here's what I want you to do with it.

So, for Christmas my in-laws gave me a big whack of cash. Which is always a good thing except.....

My mother-in-law, who I love dearly, was the one who was asking me this year what I wanted for Christmas. Like everytime she saw me. Whenever ANYBODY asks me what I want for Christmas it makes me uncomfortable. So I just kept saying "Ummm... I don't know... ummm"
So she tells me to email her a list.

Uncomfortable...

I'm not quite sure why she wouldn't just ask her son, my husband, what I wanted or for that matter why my husband, her son, wouldn't just tell her.

Anyway, shortly before Christmas we, as a group, were talking about how I had told the hubby that a nice gift for Christmas would be for him to take my Grandma's mother's ring and have it restoned for me. I had looked into that a few years ago and they had quoted me about $150.

Meanwhile, I make a list and give it to hubby to give to her. He says that she told him that they already bought me something.

Yup.

My in-laws gave me $150 for Christmas. Which is all well and good except for when I opened the card my m-i-l says, "You can use that to get your ring."

Again, all well and good, except for the fact that the quote of $150 I received was for like 5 years ago.

I later tell hubby that with my luck the ring is gonna cost way more than that and I'm gonna be stuck paying the rest and I'll not be able to use the $150 on other stuff that I might want.

So, I took the ring in to get a quote and it's gonna cost about $300.

I'm grateful and all but why give someone money if you're just gonna tell them what they can buy with it?

Hubby says to take the ring and get another quote from someone else. But really I don't feel like driving all over the world to save 20 bucks. I can't imagine that one jewellery store is going to be THAT different than another.

And really, had he thought to get the ring done when I first mentioned that it would be a good gift then his mom wouldn't have felt the need to pick up the slack when he waited too long and couldn't get it done before Christmas.

Or if I could just learn to spew off a dozen or so items when people ask me what I want then none of this would've happened.

Stupid Christmas.

9:03 a.m. - 2007-01-09

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

what you missed - what you're waiting for

|

current bestseller

author info

classic reading

write to me

DiaryLand

Publisher

100 things about ME

Things I want to do before I die

roll the dice

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

other diaries:

alicewonders
sassymcgee
talkingmoon
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
fuck--that
forbidden33
eatmorepizza
alicewonders
teranika
la-the-sage
andnowwhat
lourspete
awittykitty
bindyree
take-two
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
kungfukitten
forbidden33
fuck--that
scotvalkyrie
eatmorepizza
goingloopy
wafflehead
lourspete
toastcrumbs
teranika
la-the-sage
metame
smartypants
andnowwhat
take-two
bindyree
wafflehead
awittykitty
kungfukitten
scotvalkyrie
goingloopy
toastcrumbs
metame
smartypants
katiedoyle

Back, back again. - 2010-08-26

- - 2010-07-27

realization - 2010-04-15

realization - 2010-04-15

Contest - 2010-04-14