Welcome to Reader's World

reader1209's diary

...curl up, snuggle in and get to reading...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

realization

I having a bit of the "poor me's" lately.

I mean here I am, 40 something years old starting over..and I realized something yesterday.

I have never owned a new car, I've never lived in a brand new house, I've never (save for when I was a child) been on a vacation where I didn't stay with someone, or share a hotel room with someone. 80% of my wardrobe is hand me downs, everything in my house is lent items or items bought at garage sales or things passed on from family or friend. I get my haircut professionally about once every two years, I've had 2 pedicures in my life and both of those were after age 40.

Now don't misunderstand I know many people have it worse off than me..I know that...

But I've come to the realization that at this point in my life, given the situation I am in. I am probably never going to be able to change those things. I will probably never own a new car, a bigger home. I will never be that girl who goes to the mall shopping just to shop and come home with a summer wardrobe of nice new things.

And most of the time, I'm ok with that...but for some reason it's hit me recently..and it makes me sad.


On a slightly happier note...if you'd like to help me out with my bathroom renovation contest... Here's the link to vote. YOu can vote once a day per computer and I will have a chance at winning a $5000 Lowes gift card (which i will not be spending entirely on my bathroom..sigh) I will stretch that 5 grand til it screams and hopefully be able to do a few rooms in my house to adequate standards. How's that for a selling spiel...ha ha ha!

IF you'd like to get daily reminders to vote and you're on facebook you can join my facebook group just search Lori's Bathroom contest.

8:14 a.m. - 2010-04-15

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

what you missed - what you're waiting for

|

current bestseller

author info

classic reading

write to me

DiaryLand

Publisher

100 things about ME

Things I want to do before I die

roll the dice

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

other diaries:

alicewonders
sassymcgee
talkingmoon
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
fuck--that
forbidden33
eatmorepizza
alicewonders
teranika
la-the-sage
andnowwhat
lourspete
awittykitty
bindyree
take-two
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
kungfukitten
forbidden33
fuck--that
scotvalkyrie
eatmorepizza
goingloopy
wafflehead
lourspete
toastcrumbs
teranika
la-the-sage
metame
smartypants
andnowwhat
take-two
bindyree
wafflehead
awittykitty
kungfukitten
scotvalkyrie
goingloopy
toastcrumbs
metame
smartypants
katiedoyle

Back, back again. - 2010-08-26

- - 2010-07-27

realization - 2010-04-15

realization - 2010-04-15

Contest - 2010-04-14