Welcome to Reader's World

reader1209's diary

...curl up, snuggle in and get to reading...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tooth Drama & a book pick


ok...so the tooth debacle.

When we last left Mrs. Tooth she was hurting but I was able to handle it for the most part...until...

Last night found me curled in a fetal position on my bed moaning, "Make it stop, make it stop". I popped one of the hubby's Extra Strength Ibuprofen prescription meds....and don't even think of telling me I shouldn't be taking someone else's prescription. This was pain the likes of I have never seen before.

Pain that matched and surpassed childbirth, Caesarean incision, slamming my fingers in a car door, burning my hand with percolating coffee.

The ibuprofen lasted all of 20 minutes until I accidentally put the tiniest of pressure on the tooth. This was, of course, before I realized that any pressure at all sent laser beams of pain into my skull.

My dentist appt. wasn't until Thursday at 8 am so in the meantime, I was completely, utterly and totally screwed. I was so screwed that somewhere the pain fairy was reclining in a bed, half-covered in a sheet smoking the post-screwing cigarette.

I managed to sleep most of the night without any pain...mostly because while sleeping you don't put alot of pressure on your teeth. Thank God that I didn't have one of my teeth-grinding episodes.

Anyway, I called the dentist this morning and begged to get in earlier and they very nicely said to come in right away. I called work immediately and told them I wouldn't be in today and flew to the dentist office.

Turns out I had an abcess(sp?) in the root of my tooth. I needed either to have the tooth pulled or to have a root canal. Just to reiterate the pain level that this tooth generated, I asked the dentist which one of those two options he could do today. I didn't care if I got a root canal on the spot or if I came home without a freakin' tooth in my head just make the boo-boo go away.

What we ended up doing is drilling into the tooth to relieve the pressure and drain the infection. Then he patched it with something and called it a day. My root canal is scheduled for Sept. 21 and I am pain-free right now.

God bless dentists and their receptionists.

So, to celebrate I went to Costco and spent $179 on junk for our Annual BBQ this Saturday. We've even rented a hot tub this year...Woohoo!

Also finished my newest book, On Writing by Stephen King. If you ever thought you might like to become a writer, read this book. It will motivate you and give you tips plus I don't care what the literary critics say I love the way this man writes.

Catch ya' later,
reader

8:28 p.m. - 2006-08-16

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

what you missed - what you're waiting for

|

current bestseller

author info

classic reading

write to me

DiaryLand

Publisher

100 things about ME

Things I want to do before I die

roll the dice

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

other diaries:

alicewonders
sassymcgee
talkingmoon
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
fuck--that
forbidden33
eatmorepizza
alicewonders
teranika
la-the-sage
andnowwhat
lourspete
awittykitty
bindyree
take-two
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
kungfukitten
forbidden33
fuck--that
scotvalkyrie
eatmorepizza
goingloopy
wafflehead
lourspete
toastcrumbs
teranika
la-the-sage
metame
smartypants
andnowwhat
take-two
bindyree
wafflehead
awittykitty
kungfukitten
scotvalkyrie
goingloopy
toastcrumbs
metame
smartypants
katiedoyle

Back, back again. - 2010-08-26

- - 2010-07-27

realization - 2010-04-15

realization - 2010-04-15

Contest - 2010-04-14