Welcome to Reader's World

reader1209's diary

...curl up, snuggle in and get to reading...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Darfur

I got my run in already this morning and it's only 9:30.

Woohoo for me!

I'm not sure how far I ran - I'll have to take the car and measure it later.

Did anyone else watch 60 minutes last night? The segment on Darfur and the genocide (and yes! it's genocide) going on there.

What is it gonna take before the developed countries of the world realize that sitting by and letting it happen is as bad as doing it themselves? And I mean all the countries not just the U.S.

After WW II and the holocaust, the big call was "Never again" and then Rwanda happened and no one did anything. And now Darfur. I'm sure there were more that I am not aware of.

The U.N., well, they're just a waste of time aren't they? They are like that overindulgent parent who says,

"Now stop that."
"I mean it, you better stop."
"You're going to be in big trouble if you don't stop."
"Come on, stop doing that."
"That's it! Do it one more time and you're gonna get it."

Sometimes your better response is to give one chance and then a well-placed swat on the butt.

And no, I'm not advocating spanking or beating your kids but sometimes a light swat to the buttock is a better option than the above 42 chances. Or how about there be an actual consequence? Especially for a wayward, indulged child like the dictator in Darfur.

People are dying there. They are being slaughtered by their own government only because they are not the "right" ethnic background. Whole villages are being burnt to the ground and when the inhabitants flee there are government soldiers there to shoot them down as they run. Men, women and children alike.

That's wrong. And our elected leaders should be doing something about that.

Isn't that what we are trying to teach our kids in school? Don't be bullied, stick up for those being bullied.

I think I might just send an email to my Member of Parliament.

9:38 a.m. - 2006-10-23

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

what you missed - what you're waiting for

|

current bestseller

author info

classic reading

write to me

DiaryLand

Publisher

100 things about ME

Things I want to do before I die

roll the dice

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

other diaries:

alicewonders
sassymcgee
talkingmoon
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
fuck--that
forbidden33
eatmorepizza
alicewonders
teranika
la-the-sage
andnowwhat
lourspete
awittykitty
bindyree
take-two
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
kungfukitten
forbidden33
fuck--that
scotvalkyrie
eatmorepizza
goingloopy
wafflehead
lourspete
toastcrumbs
teranika
la-the-sage
metame
smartypants
andnowwhat
take-two
bindyree
wafflehead
awittykitty
kungfukitten
scotvalkyrie
goingloopy
toastcrumbs
metame
smartypants
katiedoyle

Back, back again. - 2010-08-26

- - 2010-07-27

realization - 2010-04-15

realization - 2010-04-15

Contest - 2010-04-14