Welcome to Reader's World

reader1209's diary

...curl up, snuggle in and get to reading...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I would shoot him

First of all, thank you to katiedoyle who found me a link to a very interesting article on the environmental connection to breast cancer. It talks about hotspots across the nation and how some areas of the US have significantly higher rates of breast cancer than others and how the government should really be looking into that. I assume it's the same over here in Canada.

For any of you interested here is the link:
http://www.alternet.org/envirohealth/43183/

Now on to more trivial things...

I had a movie night with me niece who just turned 19. We got together a bunch of movies and some snacks, took over my oldest daughters bedroom and had a movie marathon...well 2 movies anyway.

First we watched SAW which was not so much scary as it was suspenseful. And very gross. I guess it must have be somewhat scary though because whenever one of us had to leave the room...the other went with them.

Let me ask you this though, why in movies when the woman gets the gun and has it pointed at the bad guy she doesn't she ever shoot him. I mean if I were being held by some nutbar and I wrestled his gun away from him I would not, could not, stand there and repeatedly tell him not to move. I would maybe tell him once and if he moved I would shoot him. Done. Maybe if I needed some information or if he had included my children in his little kidnapping/tying up torture thing I would shoot him in the leg. and then the other leg. and maybe the stomach. You get what I'm sayin'.

But shoot him I would.

He sure as heck wouldn't get close enought to wrestle the gun back away from me.
Nuh unh.

Movie makers almost always make the woman do that and then he gets the gun away from her and then she's caught again. I hate it when they do that.

Then as a change of pace and to get rid of our heeby jeebies we watched The Lake House with Keanu Reeves and Sandra Bullock. This was a nice, romantic movie. I love Sandra Bullock - she seems down-to-earth and friendly, like someone you could hang out with.

I also love Keanu Reeves...I know, I know, many people say he can't act at all. But, I like him. He seems like one of those really quiet guys who would always blow you away with how much he knows about you and how many little romantic things he would do without ever making a big deal about it...and he would really be of help if you were ever on a speeding bus rigged with explosives.

I really love Keanu and Sandra together. I've seen them in interviews together and they really do seem like they are friends.

Anyhow, this was a good movie. I cried at the end. I love a movie that can make me cry.

This is Reader Ebert and that's my review ...two thumbs up.

P.S. My niece and I have decided that we will do a movie night regularly but no scary ones...just action and romantic. Do any of you have any titles for us? I may try and get her to watch some of the classics but that will come later. After she is securely in my web.

9:47 a.m. - 2006-10-22

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

what you missed - what you're waiting for

|

current bestseller

author info

classic reading

write to me

DiaryLand

Publisher

100 things about ME

Things I want to do before I die

roll the dice

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

other diaries:

alicewonders
sassymcgee
talkingmoon
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
fuck--that
forbidden33
eatmorepizza
alicewonders
teranika
la-the-sage
andnowwhat
lourspete
awittykitty
bindyree
take-two
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
kungfukitten
forbidden33
fuck--that
scotvalkyrie
eatmorepizza
goingloopy
wafflehead
lourspete
toastcrumbs
teranika
la-the-sage
metame
smartypants
andnowwhat
take-two
bindyree
wafflehead
awittykitty
kungfukitten
scotvalkyrie
goingloopy
toastcrumbs
metame
smartypants
katiedoyle

Back, back again. - 2010-08-26

- - 2010-07-27

realization - 2010-04-15

realization - 2010-04-15

Contest - 2010-04-14