Welcome to Reader's World

reader1209's diary

...curl up, snuggle in and get to reading...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

War is hell

After thinking about it for two full days I emailed the president of my union (please see yesterday's entry) the following:

It would appear that you are either unable or unwilling to address the concerns of your membership.

In light of what is happening between the union and the University I would think that you would want the issue I tried to raise with you addressed in the most expedient way possible.

Instead you chose to get even more vulgar and offensive.

If that is how you believe you should relate to a member of both your union and your executive committee I don�t know how you would expect that I could, as a representative of this union, see you as a leader that I could go to with any future issues.


I thought I was being very professional and not at all offensive while still getting my point across. You'll notice I, at no time, insulted him or called him names. I didn't insult his intelligence. He, however responded to me with an 8 paragraph emial that said, among other things...

"Let me first turn my attention to your remark about my inability or unwillingness to respond to the concerns of my membership. I believe what you truly mean is the concerns of "the Library group" as I have had no trouble thus far with any of the other members. "Unwilling", however, to deal with people who do not stand up for their union rights is part of my vocabulary. People who attack their leadership is also part of my vocabulary, and people who attack their leadership for insufficient cause is of great concern to me. As well, people who don't know anything, but still get their nose out of joint when I post something certainly concerns me the most, as they usually are not activists and moreover clueless whilst creating difficulty for the folks who are actually committed and educated to the cause.

In response to you accusation of vulgarity and offensiveness, may I say that I found your tone to be most obtrusive, vulgar and offensive (especially since you caught me at a bad time). Not to mention unprofessional, pre-emptive and giving the appearance of a lack of proper investigation prior to an attack on the President. Did you not review my response to these individuals? Have I have underestimated you?

Your perception of me as a leader of the union and my relation to same is of such disproportion that it is hardly worth a reply, however, I will state that I have made it clear on many occasions, that you are to manage your position through the chain of command. That being the first person you complain to is the Vice President of this Local and appointed by me to handle ALL Library affaires. I have given him full autonomy to work with your sub-unit for negotiations and grievances.. He will report to me if he feels I need be involved.

Regarding vulgarity and offensiveness, I would simply reply, that you went straight for the throat when you called me. Next time, get your emotions and facts in order prior to contacting me. As you must well know by now, I do not take kindly to bullyish and heated attacks. I will not be threatened nor intimidated by anyone. Especially my executive. You will undoubtedly remember this lesson for next time. Further, I am of the opinion that I will treat people as they treat me, and there is no sense in wasting words when a situation appears to be an attack from the "get go". The old saying is "you mess with the bull, you get the horns".

That is the proper chain of command. As far as your comment to my relation to my members, I expect rational, respectful communications. It would be my hope that the IQ of the people I deal with is at least above 50 and that they would focus on the intent of my correspondence rather than create some assinine and destructive alternative to the reality of which I speak.

Until then, I expect no further correspondence from you on this matter as you are making a "mountain out of an ant hill". Let's stay in line with the Big picture OK?"

_________________

This is the man who represents me in negotiations with management.

AND just so you all know exactly what was the catalyst for this whole situation. Below is the email he sent to two members of my local...

I hope you are not spokespeople for the entire Library system as that would be embarrasing.
>> >>
Ya know what? If you would like to take a walk in my shoes for a bit, go ahead. To hell with professionalism. You do not know the meaning of the
word. What ever happened to integrity,
responsibility and solidarity? Apparently these words do not exist in YOUR dictionary. Bullying? You should maybe take a read in some of the books
you tote around for the public once in a while.
If you took some of your precious time to research Unions you might actually find the gritty substance on how they were formed and how the people that
started them were beaten and killed for the rights you now enjoy. You make me sick with your ever present whining. My Father who is 85 years old, was involved with the start of Unions in this city back in the 40's. I am sure that if he seen your e-mail
to me, he would drag his almost dead self out of his hospital bed to take you to task. I am embarrassed for you both since you have no concept of what a Union is or what you say. Go ahead and FIRE me.
There will be no loss of revenue on my part as I do not get paid to represent some of the sorry asses around here. You are supposed to be educated.
Why don't you start showing it!

Oh yeah. call the national rep. and complain. Until you are ready to take this burden from me, shut the hell up! I have already lost a very integral part of my executive to the likes of people like you, and have no problem stepping down if you so desire. I take complete offense to you
idiotic response to my simple e-mail which was aimed at recruiting some of your lazy complaining asses.
You think that was bullying? I call it "trying to wake people like you up!" Tell the membership what
you think of me at the next meeting. Looking forward to seeing you both there! To quote a resigned executive member.."I am tired of whiping peoples asses around here...I quit! Make sure that when you voice your displeasure, you stand up so everyone can see you.

Unprofessionally yours if you will. You signed "Best regards" after insulting me Cheap BS.

Ps Take a moment to check the dictionary. "Shit" is derived from the german word "shist" and "ass" is
defined as a "long eared animal, equus asinus".
But of course, with you University education, you already knew that.

___________________

I need some advice here.
Should I dig in on this?
Was I out of line in any way?
Should I try and take this guy down or is this how unions operate and I'm just too womanly to be able to play with the big boys?

I'm starting to doubt myself because he seems SO sure that he is right.

I really hate him.

4:24 p.m. - 2007-04-08

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

what you missed - what you're waiting for

|

current bestseller

author info

classic reading

write to me

DiaryLand

Publisher

100 things about ME

Things I want to do before I die

roll the dice

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

other diaries:

alicewonders
sassymcgee
talkingmoon
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
fuck--that
forbidden33
eatmorepizza
alicewonders
teranika
la-the-sage
andnowwhat
lourspete
awittykitty
bindyree
take-two
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
kungfukitten
forbidden33
fuck--that
scotvalkyrie
eatmorepizza
goingloopy
wafflehead
lourspete
toastcrumbs
teranika
la-the-sage
metame
smartypants
andnowwhat
take-two
bindyree
wafflehead
awittykitty
kungfukitten
scotvalkyrie
goingloopy
toastcrumbs
metame
smartypants
katiedoyle

Back, back again. - 2010-08-26

- - 2010-07-27

realization - 2010-04-15

realization - 2010-04-15

Contest - 2010-04-14