Welcome to Reader's World

reader1209's diary

...curl up, snuggle in and get to reading...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Elderly Abuse...not what you're thinking.

So, I've spent part of my afternoon at work loading books into my goodreads page at www.goodreads.com. You should stop by there - it's pretty cool.

I've spent the other part of my afternoon at work shopping for motorcycles on Ebay.

Seriously, when did I become this ginormous slacker? I know I should be doing work related stuff but really I don't feel like it. I just want to surf the internet or read a book or do something that doesn't require alot of thought. The fact that someone is PAYING me at the moment doesn't have any meaning in my little head. And really, when you consider the amount of work-related stuff I do at home, on my own time I guess it's only fair that I do some home-related work here on work time.

Yeah, that's the ticket.

Speaking of ...well, nothing. Has anyone noticed that old/elderly people are getting ruder these days? I mean, I don't mean to be ageist. I don't think I am painting a whole group with the same brush but I deal with an inordinate amount of elderly people at my job. I get people who, literally, toss their library card AT me. Not hand it to me but toss it AT me. Then today I had this conversation with an elderly gentleman who called the library.

ME: Hello, Small town library, Reader spe...

OLD GUY (yelling): WHO AM I SPEAKING TO?!

ME (pulling phone away from now deaf ear): This is Reader.

OLD GUY: I'M CALLING FROM THE NURSING HOME AND I WANT YOU TO HANG A POSTER UP IN THE LIBRARY!

ME: Well, we do have our bulletin board. What type of poster is it?

OLD GUY: IT'S AN ORGAN DONATION POSTER AND IT'S BIG.

ME: How big is it? Our bulletin board is not too, too big and we can't have a poster that takes up too much of it but if it's not....

OLD GUY: I DON'T KNOW HOW BIG IT IS. IT'S BIG, REALLY BIG!

ME: Well, I think it will probably be too big for our bulletin board but maybe you could...

OLD GUY: COULD YOU TELL ME WHERE ELSE I COULD HANG IT?

ME: Maybe the grocery store or the hardware store.

OLD GUY: OKAY FINE.

click. He hangs up.

Then he calls back later, asks for me and tells me the poster is 2 feet by 3 feet. I tell him that it is, indeed, too big for our bulletin board. He hangs up on me again and then 2 hours later some lady shows up to ask if he called and could they hang the poster up.

sigh.

Then we have this other older lady who orders books in and when she gets the automated call saying that she has items to pick up she calls us and this conversation ensues....

ME: Hello, small town library, Reader speaking.

HER: What items do I have in?

No hello, no "my name is", no nothing.
I so want to just answer her "I don't know" and then hang up.

Well, I feel better now that I have vented some pet peeves. Maybe I should go do a little actual work.

Only 2 more hours until I go to a Mary Kay cosmetics party.
woo. hoo.
Friday night doesn't get any better than that.

And then tomorrow I have my Weight Watchers weigh-in. I hoping to break through the 20 lbs lost mark.

Wish me luck

4:15 p.m. - 2007-03-30

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

what you missed - what you're waiting for

|

current bestseller

author info

classic reading

write to me

DiaryLand

Publisher

100 things about ME

Things I want to do before I die

roll the dice

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

other diaries:

alicewonders
sassymcgee
talkingmoon
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
fuck--that
forbidden33
eatmorepizza
alicewonders
teranika
la-the-sage
andnowwhat
lourspete
awittykitty
bindyree
take-two
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
kungfukitten
forbidden33
fuck--that
scotvalkyrie
eatmorepizza
goingloopy
wafflehead
lourspete
toastcrumbs
teranika
la-the-sage
metame
smartypants
andnowwhat
take-two
bindyree
wafflehead
awittykitty
kungfukitten
scotvalkyrie
goingloopy
toastcrumbs
metame
smartypants
katiedoyle

Back, back again. - 2010-08-26

- - 2010-07-27

realization - 2010-04-15

realization - 2010-04-15

Contest - 2010-04-14