Welcome to Reader's World

reader1209's diary

...curl up, snuggle in and get to reading...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sue your Drug Dealer...of course.

My rant for the day...This article has been both in our newspaper and on the Yahoo news feed...God help us all.


_______________________________________

OTTAWA (AFP) - A Canadian woman won a civil suit against her drug dealer for selling her addictive street drugs that landed her in hospital after an overdose, she said Wednesday.

A judge in western Saskatchewan province threw out the rural drug dealer's defense because he refused to reveal where he got the narcotics, and in doing so, awarded plaintiff Sandra Bergen a default victory, said court documents.

"I was frustrated with the criminal justice system because there was no real investigation (into his crimes), so I decided to try to hold him accountable through a civil lawsuit," Bergen told AFP in a telephone interview.

"I sued him for negligence ... for selling me (illegal) drugs and getting me hooked when I was vulnerable," she said of her former kindergarten friend who first offered her a free dose when she was only 13 years old.

Citing her attorney, Bergen added: "My victory sets a legal precedence (in Canada), so people can now sue their drug dealers if they want to."

After she overdosed on crystal methamphetamine in May 2004, Bergen spent 11 days in a coma and nearly died.

While hooked up to a hospital respirator because she could not breathe on her own, she said she suffered lung failure, heart failure, kidney failure, and liver failure.

"It almost killed me," she said.

In her statement of claim, Bergen alleged her dealer "knew the drug was highly addictive and was harmful to the wealth and well-being of anyone taking it," yet still sold it to her "for the purpose of making money."

In his defense, Clinton Davey said Bergen "voluntarily consumed illegal drugs, thus contributing to her own condition." "She assumed the risks," he said.

Bergen woke up from the coma on her 20th birthday and has since abandoned her seven-year drug habit, but still suffers reduced heart function and other ailments, she said.

A judge must now determine damages in the case. Bergen said she is seeking in excess of 50,000 dollars (Canadian, US). A date for the hearing has not yet been set.
_______________________________________


This has got to be THE most re-fucking-diculous thing I have ever seen in my life. I mean here, once again, is a shining example of how today's society has become a bunch of whiny, I-didn't-do-it-but-if-I-did-it-wasn't-my fault, lawsuit-filing mouth-breathers. (Feel free to add any other hyphenated adjective you would like).

Is this woman for real?

She's been doing drugs for 13 years - shouldn't she have intuited that there is some sort of risk in that behaviour.

Sweetie, seriously, shut up...just shut up and take responsibility for the fuck up that was you...be glad you didn't die...do something with your freakin' life and quit looking for someone else to blame.

I swear...if this case seriously results in some money I am dragging my ass down to our downtown core. I'm going to score myself some drugs (and get the drug dealer's name) I'll ingest said drugs in the emergency room of our local hospital, they will save me and then I'm suing EVERYONE.

And I mean EVERYONE!

I'll sue the stupid woman from the article for giving me the idea.

I'll sue the judge for giving a monetary reward for stupidity thus making me want to be stupid.

I'll sue the newspaper for printing the article...and while I'm at it I'll sue Yahoo..they gotta have some bucks.

I'll sue my drug dealer for selling me the drug.

I'll sue the hospital for having chairs and a bathroom that I used in the midst of my overdose.

I'll just be sue happy.

Oh Geez, my head hurts over the stupidity of people, the unmitigated gall of people.

*grumble grumble...suing her fricking drug dealer...grumble grumble...you've GOT to be FREAKIN kidding me...grumble grumble*

8:11 a.m. - 2008-01-10

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

what you missed - what you're waiting for

|

current bestseller

author info

classic reading

write to me

DiaryLand

Publisher

100 things about ME

Things I want to do before I die

roll the dice

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

other diaries:

alicewonders
sassymcgee
talkingmoon
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
fuck--that
forbidden33
eatmorepizza
alicewonders
teranika
la-the-sage
andnowwhat
lourspete
awittykitty
bindyree
take-two
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
kungfukitten
forbidden33
fuck--that
scotvalkyrie
eatmorepizza
goingloopy
wafflehead
lourspete
toastcrumbs
teranika
la-the-sage
metame
smartypants
andnowwhat
take-two
bindyree
wafflehead
awittykitty
kungfukitten
scotvalkyrie
goingloopy
toastcrumbs
metame
smartypants
katiedoyle

Back, back again. - 2010-08-26

- - 2010-07-27

realization - 2010-04-15

realization - 2010-04-15

Contest - 2010-04-14