Welcome to Reader's World

reader1209's diary

...curl up, snuggle in and get to reading...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

...and breathe...

Okay.

All the Christmas shopping is done.
I will start wrapping tonight.
Tomorrow I will clean the house and make some desserts and look at the turkey repeatedly willing it to defrost with the power of my mind.

I will never again, as God is my witness, leave the majority of my Christmas shopping until the last two weeks before the big day. Normally I start buying gifts in September...not all of them but one here and one there so that by the week or two before Christmas we only have to spend maybe a couple hundred dollars on odds and ends and last minute things.

Yeah, stupidheads we are, this year we left almost everything (and by "we" I mean "me") until the end. So for the last two weeks our bank accounts have been hemorraghing money and hubby has been muttering about "Why do you keep talking about going away when we can't even afford Christmas?" Although, in fairness to me, half the time my "talk" of going away is along the lines of "I've noticed that with Christmas falling on a Monday this year I get screwed out of vacation time but next year...oh, next year, my friend I will have enough time so we could go awaaaaaay..."

Does that sound like I've seriously booked a trip to you?

Because when I said it he got all kind of up in arms and said "How are we going to go away? You keep talking about going away and we can't even afford Christmas so we won't be able to go away with the kids."

I was joking.

Kind of like how he says, when perusing sale flyers, "Oh, I can go get my big screen TV. It's on sale." To which I reply, with a smile, "Yeah right, you do that."

Anyhoo, I am mostly ready for Christmas. And the liquor cabinet is stocked.

I think I can breathe out now.

4:40 p.m. - 2006-12-22

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

what you missed - what you're waiting for

|

current bestseller

author info

classic reading

write to me

DiaryLand

Publisher

100 things about ME

Things I want to do before I die

roll the dice

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

other diaries:

alicewonders
sassymcgee
talkingmoon
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
fuck--that
forbidden33
eatmorepizza
alicewonders
teranika
la-the-sage
andnowwhat
lourspete
awittykitty
bindyree
take-two
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
kungfukitten
forbidden33
fuck--that
scotvalkyrie
eatmorepizza
goingloopy
wafflehead
lourspete
toastcrumbs
teranika
la-the-sage
metame
smartypants
andnowwhat
take-two
bindyree
wafflehead
awittykitty
kungfukitten
scotvalkyrie
goingloopy
toastcrumbs
metame
smartypants
katiedoyle

Back, back again. - 2010-08-26

- - 2010-07-27

realization - 2010-04-15

realization - 2010-04-15

Contest - 2010-04-14