Welcome to Reader's World

reader1209's diary

...curl up, snuggle in and get to reading...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gift-giving 101

I think I'm done all my Christmas shopping, other than that of a grocery nature.

I managed to burn through my WHOLE paycheck in about 6 days...eeeek!

I've never had to do that before because usually I start shopping early and pick up a thing here and a thing there. But this year it was all left until two weeks before Christmas.

And by the way, if you happen to be in a mall the week before Christmas - walk fast or get the hell out. The week before Christmas is NOT the time for window shopping or walking lazily hand-in-hand with your husband.

CLEAR THE WAY!!! WOMAN ON A MISSION!!!

Also, if you'd like to guarantee yourself a spot in heaven let the lady behind you go through the checkout with her two tiny items before you take over with your 547 Old Navy sweatshirts. That's the way to the promised land, I tell ya.

I'm having a inordinate amount of people this year ask me what I want for Christmas.

I don't like this.

A, I don't like telling people what to buy me. I have no idea how much you want to spend so I feel that I should give you many options in many price ranges but then I feel that I'm telling you to buy me a million gifts. It's very uncomfortable for me.

B, I prefer that people think about buying a gift. Put some thought into it. It means ever so much more when you do that. Which is why I hate to give someone a generic gift certificate. I hate to buy gift certificates at all but I will by one for my brother to the wine-making place because he has recently got into making wine. I won't buy one for Wal-Mart for my niece because, to me, that says I didn't have time or energy to think about you and what you'd like so just do it yourself. That's just my opinion.


My husband is sometimes very good at buying a gift and sometimes he's hideous. He wants to get his friend (of some 30 odd years) hockey tape for Christmas. Now, K does play hockey but hockey tape??? What the hell.

I think he just didn't put enough thought into it. He did put some...but not quite enough. Do you see? He thought about the fact that K plays hockey but the only gift idea he could come up with was hockey tape...

So close.

Again, just my opinion.

6 more sleeps 'til Christmas.

8:50 a.m. - 2006-12-19

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

what you missed - what you're waiting for

|

current bestseller

author info

classic reading

write to me

DiaryLand

Publisher

100 things about ME

Things I want to do before I die

roll the dice

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

other diaries:

alicewonders
sassymcgee
talkingmoon
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
fuck--that
forbidden33
eatmorepizza
alicewonders
teranika
la-the-sage
andnowwhat
lourspete
awittykitty
bindyree
take-two
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
kungfukitten
forbidden33
fuck--that
scotvalkyrie
eatmorepizza
goingloopy
wafflehead
lourspete
toastcrumbs
teranika
la-the-sage
metame
smartypants
andnowwhat
take-two
bindyree
wafflehead
awittykitty
kungfukitten
scotvalkyrie
goingloopy
toastcrumbs
metame
smartypants
katiedoyle

Back, back again. - 2010-08-26

- - 2010-07-27

realization - 2010-04-15

realization - 2010-04-15

Contest - 2010-04-14