Welcome to Reader's World

reader1209's diary

...curl up, snuggle in and get to reading...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cholesterol and Mullets

I went to the doctor's on Friday to get my annual physical which was apparently 3 years late.

I don't know how that happened. I mean I knew I was overdue for my physical but I thought I was like 6 months past when I should have booked it but really it was 3 years since I had had one. eeek.

Anyhow, the doctor checked my blood pressure (excellent) and my cholesterol (nice and low, I believe the word used was "fabulous"). The only thing that was odd was that I'm still showing microscopic blood in my urine. I've had an ultrasound on my kidneys, my bladder and my liver and they all look fine so we don't know what's up with the blood. It may be caused from my running.

Once again the doc asked about my family medical history. I hate this question. I'm adopted so I do not KNOW any of my family history other than there was some cancer in my "family". I don't know what kind of cancer and I don't know which relative it was that had it.

I was adopted when I was 6 weeks old and back then (the 60's) they didn't give you a heck of a lot of information. Or they did and my Mom and Dad just never committed it to memory so as to pass it on to me.

I did once send in the forms to get my non-identifying info. That's what they call all the information they can give you that won't reveal who you're birth parents are. Anyway, I sent away for that thinking I would get some sort of written report. I got a phone call in which someone told me some info but I made sketchy notes because I figured that I would get some sort of written thing like most other people get when they send away for that stuff.

I never did get a written report and when I eventually called them they said I'd have to send in the forms again and that it would take another couple years to get the info.

But they did tell me that I had a birth sister who was looking for me. She had been in contact with my birth mother and that we had different fathers and that she was two years older than me.

I never pursued that. That was about 10 years ago or so. I often wonder if I should but then I guess I'm scared. What if they are some kind of weirdos and then I can't get them out of my life?

But then again, what if they are fabulous people who would be great to know?

Nah, with my luck they are living in a trailer park, drinking cheap beer and trying to grow their mullets out.

Yeah....that would be my luck.

8:42 a.m. - 2006-12-04

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

what you missed - what you're waiting for

|

current bestseller

author info

classic reading

write to me

DiaryLand

Publisher

100 things about ME

Things I want to do before I die

roll the dice

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

other diaries:

alicewonders
sassymcgee
talkingmoon
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
fuck--that
forbidden33
eatmorepizza
alicewonders
teranika
la-the-sage
andnowwhat
lourspete
awittykitty
bindyree
take-two
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
kungfukitten
forbidden33
fuck--that
scotvalkyrie
eatmorepizza
goingloopy
wafflehead
lourspete
toastcrumbs
teranika
la-the-sage
metame
smartypants
andnowwhat
take-two
bindyree
wafflehead
awittykitty
kungfukitten
scotvalkyrie
goingloopy
toastcrumbs
metame
smartypants
katiedoyle

Back, back again. - 2010-08-26

- - 2010-07-27

realization - 2010-04-15

realization - 2010-04-15

Contest - 2010-04-14