Welcome to Reader's World

reader1209's diary

...curl up, snuggle in and get to reading...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bad Luck??

I had THE most interesting weekend.

It all started on Thursday....

The hubby went with his friend to a pro football game. They didn't actually have tickets but they were sure that they could get some once they got there. They managed to find two tickets for only $40 each, which is like face value so they were thinkin' Woohoo! They stopped outside the stadium at a little bar and a drink before the game and then went in and while they were wandering around the new stadium that neither of them had ever been to they ordered another beer and saw what they could see. (Beer and football just go together)

When they arrive at their seats they realize that the tickets they bought were for the Family Fun Zone which is the one section of the stadium that is an alcohol-free zone.

And from there the whole weekend went downhill.

My car battery died while I was at work on Thursday night...dead. As in the electric locks wouldn't even work.

Friday morning I get my monthly visitor at work, a week early, and I am woefully unprepared. Good thing there's a drug store across the street.

Friday afternoon, our dog runs away. Well she doesn't actually run...the middle child took her out and she just sort of started following a scent and would not listen when Potatie called her and called her. So Potatie comes home in tears and tells Hubby who immediately goes out to find the dog and can't. Now, we live on a semi-busy street, meaning it's not usually too busy but at 4:30 on a Friday it's BUSSSY.

They can't find her after an hour so hubby calls me at work. I can't do anything except call the Animal Control guy who says he will keep an eye out.

I realize that the dog does not have her tag on because like an idiot I didn't put it on her when I bought the pretty blue thing because I was going to save it for Christmas. (not as stupid as it sounds as the dog never NEVER goes outside alone...although the "saving it for Christmas" part is kinda dumb because really what does a dog care.)

Anhow, I get home from work and we are looking and looking and wandering the streets calling the dog but we can't find her. Friends are driving around looking and we've made a number of phone calls to people we know in the area asking them to keep an eye out. Finally around 9:30 we give up.

I woke up a couple times in the night to check the backdoor but nothing.

I cannot imagine how people cope when their children go missing. This was a dog and I couldn't sleep for worrying where whe was sleeping and how cold she was. A missing child must be absolute hell.

The next morning I got up early and took Potatie out in the van and we drove up and down streets, stopping people we saw to show them the pooch's picture and leave our number with them.

When we got home we made a Lost Dog poster and just before I went out the door to get it photocopied I called the Humane Society to let them know and ask if anyone had a brought a dog in.

They did!!! Someone had picked her up almost immediately after she had taken off. Phew! Talk about absolute relief.

We arranged to go pick her up and trust me her tag was on before we even left the driveway.

And when we go to leave the driveway wouldn't you know...the car battery is dead...again.


We get a jump, come home, hubby goes to get a new battery and I begin to do a major cleaning on the house with the help of all the chilluns.

While cleaning I decide to replace and old icky mirror in the bathroom with a nice picture and in taking the mirror down I break it.

Hmmm...7 years bad luck...how will we know the difference?

I throw the mirror away and notice that I have cut myself...just a tiny cut, no biggie

Hubby goes to pick up a pizza so that we can eat and head out to a Christmas parade.

Hubby calls from pizza place - the new battery is dead and the electric locks have locked the keys in the van.

I head to the pizza place and we unsuccessfully try to jump the van. It won't work. We leave the van in front of the pizza place and take our pizza home. We are now too late to go to the parade so we eat pizza and watch Nacho Libre with the kids.

Then we go to bed.

Sunday comes and everything is much better. We go to pick up the van and realize that one of the connections is loose so we tighten it and it now works like a charm.

I got Christmas decorations put up on the outside of the house and the inside is all cleaned up.

And we had a family game night with the kids that was freakin' hilarious. UNO extreme and a Spongebob Squarepants spoon game that was hysterically funny.

For a weekend that started out like crap it ended up ok.

Never thought I hear myself say this but I'm glad Monday is here.

8:39 a.m. - 2006-11-27

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

what you missed - what you're waiting for

|

current bestseller

author info

classic reading

write to me

DiaryLand

Publisher

100 things about ME

Things I want to do before I die

roll the dice

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

other diaries:

alicewonders
sassymcgee
talkingmoon
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
fuck--that
forbidden33
eatmorepizza
alicewonders
teranika
la-the-sage
andnowwhat
lourspete
awittykitty
bindyree
take-two
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
kungfukitten
forbidden33
fuck--that
scotvalkyrie
eatmorepizza
goingloopy
wafflehead
lourspete
toastcrumbs
teranika
la-the-sage
metame
smartypants
andnowwhat
take-two
bindyree
wafflehead
awittykitty
kungfukitten
scotvalkyrie
goingloopy
toastcrumbs
metame
smartypants
katiedoyle

Back, back again. - 2010-08-26

- - 2010-07-27

realization - 2010-04-15

realization - 2010-04-15

Contest - 2010-04-14