Welcome to Reader's World

reader1209's diary

...curl up, snuggle in and get to reading...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bring it back NOWWW!!!

An actual phone conversation that I had with a library patron at work:

Me: Good afternoon, Blah-di-blah library. Reader speaking.

Weirdo: Yeah. I got a letter from you saying that my book is overdue.

Me: Yes, we do send those out.

Weirdo: Yeah. Umm..it says it�s overdue and I wanted to know if you could tell me when I have to have it back by.

Me: Wellllll, the letter means it�s already overdue so that means you have to bring it back right away.

Weirdo: Yeah, but when is the latest I can bring it back. It says that you will only charge a maximum of $6. So when do I have to have it back by. Can I bring it on Friday? I need it for a project.

Me: Well, that is correct � we do cap the fines at $6 but you have to bring the book back. It�s already way overdue. It was due back on October 3rd.

Weirdo: I can�t bring it back on Friday, then?

Me: (long, slow, deep breath): Welllll, that�s up to you but you run the risk of that debt going to the collection agency.

Weirdo: Oh. Okay. Yeah. Thanks. Bye.


Okay, people, date dues in library books are not suggestions, they are not guidelines. They are the date that the book MUST be returned. You can bring it back earlier. You can bring it back on the exact date but if you bring it back after the stamped date�IT�S OVERDUE!!!...So don�t call me at work and ask when you �really� have to have the book back by, just don�t do it...please, you�re killin� me.

9:34 p.m. - 2006-11-14

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

what you missed - what you're waiting for

|

current bestseller

author info

classic reading

write to me

DiaryLand

Publisher

100 things about ME

Things I want to do before I die

roll the dice

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

other diaries:

alicewonders
sassymcgee
talkingmoon
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
fuck--that
forbidden33
eatmorepizza
alicewonders
teranika
la-the-sage
andnowwhat
lourspete
awittykitty
bindyree
take-two
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
kungfukitten
forbidden33
fuck--that
scotvalkyrie
eatmorepizza
goingloopy
wafflehead
lourspete
toastcrumbs
teranika
la-the-sage
metame
smartypants
andnowwhat
take-two
bindyree
wafflehead
awittykitty
kungfukitten
scotvalkyrie
goingloopy
toastcrumbs
metame
smartypants
katiedoyle

Back, back again. - 2010-08-26

- - 2010-07-27

realization - 2010-04-15

realization - 2010-04-15

Contest - 2010-04-14