Welcome to Reader's World

reader1209's diary

...curl up, snuggle in and get to reading...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Elections!!!

I get to go vote today.
We are having elections for our mayor and town council.

The big issue here in our small town is that they have made plans to build a giant, multi-million dollar community/sports type complex with soccer fields and a rec center and some sort of water activity type pool and an arena.

Everybody is up in arms because there was no vote on whether the community wanted it or not. And some people are saying that it is going to cost WAY too much to run and that we didn't need a 2000 seat arena. And some people (that'd be my hubby) doesn't think he should have to pay (by way of taxes) for an arena that our kids will not use. He thinks that if your kid is in hockey then you should just have to pay more. We shouldn't have to pay for it because we are not using it.

I think (and really, it's only my opinion that counts, right?) that while our kids are not into hockey or soccer right now they might be later, or they may go ice skating or they may hang out at a rec centre. Or maybe if we had a 2000 seat arena our little town could bring in some charity hockey games with celebrities or some bigger name entertainment and make our town the place to go.

Do I think they need to scale back some stuff?...yes. Do I think they should scrap the whole idea?...NO, that's incredible assinine and anyone who advocates that is definitely NOT getting my vote.

We'll see how it goes.

Maybe later I will post some pictures of the geese that were floating on the river behind my house.

Happy Monday!

totally unrelated update!!! I was checking my stats and someone came to visit me by way of googling "love acts bourbon". If and when I stop laughing I'll get back to you.

9:21 a.m. - 2006-11-13

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

what you missed - what you're waiting for

|

current bestseller

author info

classic reading

write to me

DiaryLand

Publisher

100 things about ME

Things I want to do before I die

roll the dice

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

other diaries:

alicewonders
sassymcgee
talkingmoon
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
fuck--that
forbidden33
eatmorepizza
alicewonders
teranika
la-the-sage
andnowwhat
lourspete
awittykitty
bindyree
take-two
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
kungfukitten
forbidden33
fuck--that
scotvalkyrie
eatmorepizza
goingloopy
wafflehead
lourspete
toastcrumbs
teranika
la-the-sage
metame
smartypants
andnowwhat
take-two
bindyree
wafflehead
awittykitty
kungfukitten
scotvalkyrie
goingloopy
toastcrumbs
metame
smartypants
katiedoyle

Back, back again. - 2010-08-26

- - 2010-07-27

realization - 2010-04-15

realization - 2010-04-15

Contest - 2010-04-14