Welcome to Reader's World

reader1209's diary

...curl up, snuggle in and get to reading...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cactus cut entry.

I went to see the movie Babel last night with my friend, S.

It was a very well acted movie and it was one of those movies that you probably shouldn't go see if you just want to go to the movies and be entertained.

We came out thinking it was good but that we must have missed something. However the more we talked about it the more we got the point that was being made.

It was all about communication and miscommunication and how people don't really listen to each other and how people tend to hear what they want.

Good movie and I totally understand the oscar buzz.

On a side note this is only the second Brad Pitt movie I have ever seen. I just never got the whole "Omg - Brad Pitt" thing. The first one was the IRA movie The Devil's Own which was also a good one. Oh, and I saw Thelma and Louise but I don't count that as a Brad movie.

After the movie we went to a Sports Bar/Restaurant for a late dinner/snack.

We ordered something called Cactus cut nachos..which as far as I could tell were round cut french fries topped with taco stuff. Why they were called cactus cut I still do not know and the waitress didn't know either.

And as for the waitress....she brings us our nachos which are covered in melted cheese and diced tomatoes and such. We are sharing the order. She asks if we'd like side plates and we say yes. She brings them but doesn't bring any utensils or napkins or anything.

Now, I know this is a dish you would generally eat with your fingers but the cheese was all melty so you'd think we would even get offered utensils.

When she brings us the plates, my friend says we might need a fork too. So she come back with ONE fork for two people sharing a dish.

And still no napkins.

So here is our option: Eat with your fingers but have nothing to wipe with or take turns eating with the one lone fork.

We finally catch her attention and asks if she can bring us some napkins and she says... yeah.

Not, "Oh I'm sorry, sure" just "yeah"

And then when we pay the bill and she brings back our change my friend says thank you as she hands it to her and the waitress just walks away. No "you're welcome" or nothing.

Hmmmm...maybe she was just having a off night but I was not impressed. I mean, we are friendly people and we were very cordial to her and said please and thank you.

I hate bad service in a restaurant. I mean if you are in a service industry you should bring your "A" game every night.

It's your job.

I didn't do anything to you so why must you take part of my night and make it less enjoyable?

And I still want to know why they called them Cactus cut nachos when they were just potatoes cut thinly in circles. No nachos to be seen, no cactus type anything...THAT'S gonna bug me for a while.

9:00 a.m. - 2006-11-12

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

what you missed - what you're waiting for

|

current bestseller

author info

classic reading

write to me

DiaryLand

Publisher

100 things about ME

Things I want to do before I die

roll the dice

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

other diaries:

alicewonders
sassymcgee
talkingmoon
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
fuck--that
forbidden33
eatmorepizza
alicewonders
teranika
la-the-sage
andnowwhat
lourspete
awittykitty
bindyree
take-two
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
kungfukitten
forbidden33
fuck--that
scotvalkyrie
eatmorepizza
goingloopy
wafflehead
lourspete
toastcrumbs
teranika
la-the-sage
metame
smartypants
andnowwhat
take-two
bindyree
wafflehead
awittykitty
kungfukitten
scotvalkyrie
goingloopy
toastcrumbs
metame
smartypants
katiedoyle

Back, back again. - 2010-08-26

- - 2010-07-27

realization - 2010-04-15

realization - 2010-04-15

Contest - 2010-04-14