Welcome to Reader's World

reader1209's diary

...curl up, snuggle in and get to reading...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I can read...no, you can't

Still Nano-ing and surprisingly I'm liking it. Maybe I'll be a writer when I grow up. I've got two chapters locked in and I'm pretty sure what the third is going to be.

Oh yeah, did I mention I like to write by the seat of my pants.

When I started I had no outline, no ideas ...all I had was the first two lines. I wrote those and the rest just sort of followed and everytime I finish a chapter I have a foggy idea of what happens next but nothing major. Nothing that goes too far in advance.

It's like I'm the rain man or something.

Next thing you know I'll be packing for Vegas and counting the dog hairs on my kitchen floor.

In other news, I don't know if I mentioned that my boy, who is 6, is a genius. I mean the kid can read, really, really read. Not that halting, sounding-out-every-letter kind of reading like other first graders but the reading that means I can't type an email with him standing at my shoulder because no matter how fast I type he reads it out loud and asks me why I used the word "freakishly" or tells me that the word "circumstance" is pretty big.

Anyhoo, his teacher sends home word lists for the kids to practice and big Joe brings his home and we practice his colour words (red, yellow, blue etc) and his number words, his days of the week and his months. She tells us to practice with him every night until he knows the words.

Yeah.

He knows 'em.

So then they send home a "word-ring". It's a keychain with about 40 or 50 words on it. We are supposed to keep it until he knows all the words. Our projected return date was sometime in January.

Yeah.

He knows 'em all.

I don't want to send the word ring back right away and seem all "my kid's a a genius" so we keep it for a couple days but I ask him if his teacher knows he can read. He says he doesn't think so. So I tell him that maybe he should mention it to her.

A few days later I ask him if he told the teacher he could read and he says yes, he did. I ask him what did she say. Apparently she said to the boy, "No you can't."

So he said he could.

She had him read for her and now she's telling my husband that J-boy is far more advanced reading-wise than the other kids.

D'uh.

I can just picture him too.

"Oh no you di'int just tell me I can't read. Where's my book? Somebody get me a book."

9:30 p.m. - 2006-11-02

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

what you missed - what you're waiting for

|

current bestseller

author info

classic reading

write to me

DiaryLand

Publisher

100 things about ME

Things I want to do before I die

roll the dice

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

other diaries:

alicewonders
sassymcgee
talkingmoon
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
fuck--that
forbidden33
eatmorepizza
alicewonders
teranika
la-the-sage
andnowwhat
lourspete
awittykitty
bindyree
take-two
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
kungfukitten
forbidden33
fuck--that
scotvalkyrie
eatmorepizza
goingloopy
wafflehead
lourspete
toastcrumbs
teranika
la-the-sage
metame
smartypants
andnowwhat
take-two
bindyree
wafflehead
awittykitty
kungfukitten
scotvalkyrie
goingloopy
toastcrumbs
metame
smartypants
katiedoyle

Back, back again. - 2010-08-26

- - 2010-07-27

realization - 2010-04-15

realization - 2010-04-15

Contest - 2010-04-14