Welcome to Reader's World

reader1209's diary

...curl up, snuggle in and get to reading...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

No jumping allowed

Has anyone else noticed this weird little aspect of Diaryland?

Whenever I visit someone's diary and feel the need to leave a comment or a note there is usually one there from someone on my buddy list.

It's like there are little neighbourhoods in Diaryland and we are in groups that intermingle.

I mean, I know that there are other commenters whose diary's I have never stumbled across but I usually end up seeing the same handful of people over and over again.

It's kind of comforting...in an "I-don't-know-you-but-I-like-to-know-you're-there" kind of way.

_______________________

Thanks to all who sent birthday wishes to my boy. He had a great time at his party, got lots of cool toys and most importantly, his mom survived having 5 of his classmates tearin' up the house.

You know what's strange?

The hubby and I have always stressed (and by "stressed" I mean "yelled at") to our children that you DO NOT stand on furniture. Unless, of course, it's a ladder or step stool...in which case it wouldn't really be considered 'furniture'.

Anyhow, even since the kids were babies they were not allowed to stand on the couch or the chairs or the tables. It seemed common sense to us. But you would be amazed at how many kids will come into your home and not only stand on your living room couch but take a running leap and jump on said big ticket item.

Are we too anal about this? I don't think so.

My way of thinking is you don't let children start a behaviour that you are going to have to get them to unlearn later.

For example, I had a friend who used to allow her diaper-clad son SIT on the kitchen table. You know, while we were sitting around having coffee. I could never wrap my mind around that. So, when he's 3, 6, 9 months it's ok but when he gets to be 1, 2 years old what are you gonna tell him...

"OK, THAT gravy train is done now son, you can't do that anymore!"

I don't care if it is "too strict", I don't want my kids standing and/or jumping on any furniture in my house. And I'd prefer if other people stopped their kids from doing the same thing...in my house, I mean.

Because if you can stand there and watch your kid JUMP on MY furniture...well, I have issues with you.

8:47 a.m. - 2006-10-18

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

what you missed - what you're waiting for

|

current bestseller

author info

classic reading

write to me

DiaryLand

Publisher

100 things about ME

Things I want to do before I die

roll the dice

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

other diaries:

alicewonders
sassymcgee
talkingmoon
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
fuck--that
forbidden33
eatmorepizza
alicewonders
teranika
la-the-sage
andnowwhat
lourspete
awittykitty
bindyree
take-two
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
kungfukitten
forbidden33
fuck--that
scotvalkyrie
eatmorepizza
goingloopy
wafflehead
lourspete
toastcrumbs
teranika
la-the-sage
metame
smartypants
andnowwhat
take-two
bindyree
wafflehead
awittykitty
kungfukitten
scotvalkyrie
goingloopy
toastcrumbs
metame
smartypants
katiedoyle

Back, back again. - 2010-08-26

- - 2010-07-27

realization - 2010-04-15

realization - 2010-04-15

Contest - 2010-04-14