Welcome to Reader's World

reader1209's diary

...curl up, snuggle in and get to reading...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A goodbye and a hello.

My grandma's service was nice.

I had to hear from about 5 different people how when they had visited Mimi in the hospital they had asked my mom if i had made it up there yet and each of them was told that I was very busy with work and such....

I work part-time.

And if you are sitting there making up a reason why one out of five of your daughters is not visiting their dying grandmother why would it not occur to you that you hadn't even CALLED her to tell her that said grandma was even in the hospital.

My mom also didn't tell my second oldest sister but my oldest sister had called her to tell her.

AND...as it turns out the day that I went to the lab to have my blood work done for my yearly physical my grandma was in the hospital about 500 yards away...and since that day my bloodwork took all of 10 minutes as opposed to the 2 hours I had put aside for it I would have had ample time to visit.

I did notice at the funeral home that I was the only grandchild to A) have friends come to pay their respects and B) have brought their children to the funeral.

None of my other sisters thought it was important enough to make sure that their kids were there.

And, for those of you who read the penny story here's a new tidbit....

Yesterday after my grandma's funeral the kids went over to play at the neighbour's. When I went over to pick them up I was invited in and as I bent down to take off my wet shoes I see, on the floor, a penny. Right in the middle of their foyer.

I love you too, Mimi.

P.S. thanks to everyone who left such nice notes for me. You guys are the best.

8:39 a.m. - 2006-10-03

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

what you missed - what you're waiting for

|

current bestseller

author info

classic reading

write to me

DiaryLand

Publisher

100 things about ME

Things I want to do before I die

roll the dice

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

other diaries:

alicewonders
sassymcgee
talkingmoon
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
fuck--that
forbidden33
eatmorepizza
alicewonders
teranika
la-the-sage
andnowwhat
lourspete
awittykitty
bindyree
take-two
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
kungfukitten
forbidden33
fuck--that
scotvalkyrie
eatmorepizza
goingloopy
wafflehead
lourspete
toastcrumbs
teranika
la-the-sage
metame
smartypants
andnowwhat
take-two
bindyree
wafflehead
awittykitty
kungfukitten
scotvalkyrie
goingloopy
toastcrumbs
metame
smartypants
katiedoyle

Back, back again. - 2010-08-26

- - 2010-07-27

realization - 2010-04-15

realization - 2010-04-15

Contest - 2010-04-14