Welcome to Reader's World

reader1209's diary

...curl up, snuggle in and get to reading...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tennis, anyone?

Phew!

That Labour-day-weekend, get-ready-for-school thing can really take it out of you.

You know what I love? (said most sarcastically)I love when the school sends home it's annual list of what must be purchased for your children.

The list I get includes crayons, paper, duotangs, craft supplies, pencils, pens, markers, glue (stick and bottle), ruler, and most importantly 4 tennis balls.

Tennis balls? you say.
What kind of California prep school do your kids go to, reader?

They go to no such school. The tennis balls are for...

...wait for it.

Noise reduction and scuff mark reduction.

Can you frickin' believe it?

My multi-million dollar Catholic School Board requires me to buy 4 tennis balls so that they may place them on my child's chair at school so that the noise from the moving of said chair is reduced and so that the scuff marks on the floor from the moving of said chair become non-existent.

And on top of that - tennis balls come in packs of three not four. This is because they are tennis balls not floor protectors or chair accessories. So, in order to buy 4 you have to buy two packs of three.

I suppose I could spring for tennis lessons and that would take care of the leftover 2.

Anyhow, the kids are settled in to school. The oldest has a man teacher, her first ever and her two best friends are in a different class. The middle has a woman teacher but one that I have no prior knowledge of. I hope she's nice ...and patient.
The boy, who is finally in a number grade (the operative number being one)instead of those pesky letter grades (JK & SK) has a lady teacher who seems very nice and was quite excited to finally teach one of my kids...hmmm, it appears we have a bit of a reputation.

That's good, I hope.

I'm off this weekend to my motorcycle rally with friends who have bikes. The hubby and I do not but we thoroughly enjoy watching the show that is involved with this rally and it is for a good cause. We will also be celebrating my 40th birthday so I'm sure I'll have some fun stories to tell when I get back.

Have a good weekend,
reader

P.S. Did you notice I have a comment thingy now?...hurtling into the technology frontier, I tell you, HURTLING!!!!

9:47 p.m. - 2006-09-06

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

what you missed - what you're waiting for

|

current bestseller

author info

classic reading

write to me

DiaryLand

Publisher

100 things about ME

Things I want to do before I die

roll the dice

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

other diaries:

alicewonders
sassymcgee
talkingmoon
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
fuck--that
forbidden33
eatmorepizza
alicewonders
teranika
la-the-sage
andnowwhat
lourspete
awittykitty
bindyree
take-two
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
kungfukitten
forbidden33
fuck--that
scotvalkyrie
eatmorepizza
goingloopy
wafflehead
lourspete
toastcrumbs
teranika
la-the-sage
metame
smartypants
andnowwhat
take-two
bindyree
wafflehead
awittykitty
kungfukitten
scotvalkyrie
goingloopy
toastcrumbs
metame
smartypants
katiedoyle

Back, back again. - 2010-08-26

- - 2010-07-27

realization - 2010-04-15

realization - 2010-04-15

Contest - 2010-04-14