Welcome to Reader's World

reader1209's diary

...curl up, snuggle in and get to reading...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I work hard...I DO!!

Updating from work again folks.

I hope to God they haven't installed one of those keystroke programs where they keep track of all the keystrokes made so they know what you've been doing all day. Yeah, that would mess me up bad.

I borrowed the movie, The Princess Bride, from the library the other day. I love that movie. It's got such a nice story and there is action and humour and oh so many quotable quotes. If you haven't seen it then go rent it and see it. And as an added bonus Cary Elwes is just so damn cute and Robin Wright (this was way before she married the freak that is Sean Penn) has the most beautiful hair.

Anyway I got to thinking about my favourite movies and why I liked them. So I thought I'd make a list and let you know because I know you are all sitting around thinking to yourselves, "If only we knew more useless information about reader, then and only then would our lives be complete"

Just kidding, I know you all have lives of your own and movies that you like that have nothing to do with me...it's wrong, mind you, but I can see how you live that way.

No, seriously, I'm kidding. I'm at work - I'm a little slap happy.


Here are my top ten movies of all time in no particular order:

The Princess Bride - it's like a fairy tale but with humour and the most incredible scenery-chewing acting. You just have to laugh.

Gone with the Wind - I have yet to get tired of this one...the filming is exquisite and Clark Gable was, I think, the original bad boy.

Hotel Rwanda - I can't believe that the true life occurences in the movie did not make more of a media splash when they were actually happening. Also Jamie Foxx (Ray) totally robbed Don Cheadle of his oscar.

The Pianist - I fell in love with Adrien Brody's acting in this movie. This is possibly THE most moving movie I have ever seen.

Toy Story - the first of the Pixar movies. This one has so much for kids and then some jokes that only adults will get. I still laugh out loud.

Requiem for a Dream - this is a hard movie to watch, kinda graphic but oh so scarily shows the effect of drug use. Jared Leto was excellent in this.

The Breakfast Club - I have seen this movie, oh, I'm gonna say probably 50 times. I love it. Another one that supplies innumerable quotes that I can quote off the top of my head in any given situation and then fall into peals of laughter which no one around me understands. It causes quite a ruckus. A ruckus, what was that ruckus?! Umm...can you describe the ruckus, sir? ha ha ha ha ha. Seriously, if you've never seen this movie I don't want to know you...go rent it right now. Twice.

Say Anything - I wanted Lloyd to stand outside my house with his ghetto blaster held high over his head blaring our song.. I would so have loved him forever and never let him get away.

The Sixth Sense - Now this one I'm iffy on. I've only seen it once so I don't know if it would stand up now that I know the secret. But suffice it to say that the first time I saw it I had no idea what the ending was and it hit me from behind as a total surprise. I don't even know the last movie that did that.

Extremities - with Farrah before she started to mummify (what's with that, anyway???). This was such a good taking-back-my-power movie. Just made me want to shove some guy into the fireplace opening and keep him there a while.

That's it.
That's my ten.
The list probably changes periodically but for right now those are them.


P.S. Special thank you to alicewonders here at Diaryland who not only gave me a nice add on her favourite's list but also a terrific mention in her diary. Thanks Alice, and by the way I couldn't leave a message in your guestbook, something may be wrong there, or it was me.
And to skibigsky who gave me a nice mention in the profile favourites too. Thanks ski.

3:18 p.m. - 2006-09-01

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

what you missed - what you're waiting for

|

current bestseller

author info

classic reading

write to me

DiaryLand

Publisher

100 things about ME

Things I want to do before I die

roll the dice

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

other diaries:

alicewonders
sassymcgee
talkingmoon
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
fuck--that
forbidden33
eatmorepizza
alicewonders
teranika
la-the-sage
andnowwhat
lourspete
awittykitty
bindyree
take-two
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
kungfukitten
forbidden33
fuck--that
scotvalkyrie
eatmorepizza
goingloopy
wafflehead
lourspete
toastcrumbs
teranika
la-the-sage
metame
smartypants
andnowwhat
take-two
bindyree
wafflehead
awittykitty
kungfukitten
scotvalkyrie
goingloopy
toastcrumbs
metame
smartypants
katiedoyle

Back, back again. - 2010-08-26

- - 2010-07-27

realization - 2010-04-15

realization - 2010-04-15

Contest - 2010-04-14