Welcome to Reader's World

reader1209's diary

...curl up, snuggle in and get to reading...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sweeping under the Rug

You know how you can live in your house with it being in a huge disarray and it doesn't bother you but when someone is coming over you run around like a chicken trying to clean it so they think you are a cross between Martha Stewart and Mr. Clean?

Yeah. That's me today.

And sadly, I don't mean my house.

As most of you know I have been hugely lax in keeping up this blog in the last little while but I heard tell that katiedoyle may be coming by so here I am doing the blog version of cleaning up.

Hi Katie!!

Anyhow, let's see. I should probably tie up some loose ends.

The Last Day in New Orleans.
Nothing much happened on this day so I'm not quite sure why I even said I was gonna tell you about it. We slept in a bit, had breakfast, everyone was feeling kind yucky (but not me, because if you'll remember I paced myself so I would be 100% on the plane).
Then for some unfathomable reason we left for the airport 3 hours early. It may have even been 4 hours early.
Can you believe it? 4 grown adults and all of us were thinking our plane left at 4 when really it left at 5. And even so ...why would we go to the airport for 1:00pm??? Stupid heads - that's what we were.

Plus! If you have ever been to New Orleans you may have noticed there is not a ton of stuff to do in the airport, especially on a Sunday. In Detroit there are 42,000 restaurants and cute shops and comfy chairs.
Not so much in New Orleans...

But anyway it was probably the best trip I've ever been on regardless of the airport experience.

Oh yeah, and you know my theory of how I can't get up on the plane to go to the bathroom because it will throw off the balance of the plane causing us to plummet to the earth???
I may have been wrong.
That's right, I peed on the plane...in the bathroom even...walked all the way down there, peed, walked all the way back...and lived to tell.

Loose end #2
We made the move to the new house.
I love it.
We have a huge backyard that backs onto a small river. We've got our Adirondack chairs sitting out there and G and I sometimes sit out there and have a beer or a glass of wine and talk.
I am almost fully unpacked but I still have flotsam and jetsom at the old house. The new people don't take possession until August 10th.
Those people are driving me crazy. They want to get in early to clean carpets and run freakin' gas lines but they don't want to take possession early (that'll cost them some extra dough, don't ya know) so they want us, out of the good of our hearts, to just let them in. They've actually asked us twice and both times we said that we were advised by our insurance and our lawyer that it was not a good idea because A) if some of their belongings were in the house (oh yeah, they wanted to actually move some of their stuff too) and the house caught fire our insurance wouldn't cover their stuff. To this, the guy says "he's willing to take that chance"
Ummm...do I have "stupid" tattooed on my forehead. Of course he's willing to take that chance because if the house burned down he'd just sue our asses from here to Mars and make out like a bandit.
B) If carpet cleaning guy falls down the stairs...guess who's insurance takes the hit if need be
C) running a freakin' gas line...yeah, that seems like a no risk situation for us.

Plus the guy actually called our realtor to see if he could get him in.

Why the guy just doesn't move the closing date up a week I don't know. We've told him that we were more than willing to move the date but nooooo he just wants to get in early on our dime.

Idiot.

Okay, I've done the equivalent of vacuuming and doing the dishes...and hiding the rest of the mess in closets and inside the oven. Katie will never know that it wasn't always like this.

See ya next time...

9:49 a.m. - 2006-07-28

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

what you missed - what you're waiting for

|

current bestseller

author info

classic reading

write to me

DiaryLand

Publisher

100 things about ME

Things I want to do before I die

roll the dice

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

other diaries:

alicewonders
sassymcgee
talkingmoon
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
fuck--that
forbidden33
eatmorepizza
alicewonders
teranika
la-the-sage
andnowwhat
lourspete
awittykitty
bindyree
take-two
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
kungfukitten
forbidden33
fuck--that
scotvalkyrie
eatmorepizza
goingloopy
wafflehead
lourspete
toastcrumbs
teranika
la-the-sage
metame
smartypants
andnowwhat
take-two
bindyree
wafflehead
awittykitty
kungfukitten
scotvalkyrie
goingloopy
toastcrumbs
metame
smartypants
katiedoyle

Back, back again. - 2010-08-26

- - 2010-07-27

realization - 2010-04-15

realization - 2010-04-15

Contest - 2010-04-14