Welcome to Reader's World

reader1209's diary

...curl up, snuggle in and get to reading...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

New Orleans 1


Okay...
So...New Orleans

...was totally, completely fabulous!!!

We got there about 4:30 in the afternoon Thursday, jumped in a cab, stopped at a party store to load up and arrived in the French Quarter at about 5.

To be honest, I wasn't impressed with Bourbon Street at first glance. It was kinda dirty, seedy looking. Fabulous T-shirt shops with the most hilarious sayings on them though. My faves (if I could wear them around my small children):

1. FEMA evacuation plan. Run Motherfucker Run
2. Fuck You, You Fuckin' Fuck (there's a story behind this one that made it so hysterical to see)
3. I want to be Barbie...that bitch has everything.

So, anyhoo, we get to our room. Balcony room facing Bourbon...how great is that? We open beer and unpack and just sort of soak up the atmosphere.

Oh, I forgot - the hubby and I got totally taken for $20 by this conman out front of the hotel. Felt stupid but it was all part of the experience.
This guy told hubby he could tell him the city and state that he got his shoes in. Bet us $20. We are all cocky like "Dude, there is no way ...he's already wrong ...we're from Canada."

The guy goes into this whole rhyming spiel about his granddad and how he said he'd tell us where we got the shoes not where we bought them and that we got them on our feet in the city of New Orleans in the state of Louisiana.

Slam.

We paid him and moved on, laughing. What a bunch of hicks.

So we are in the room getting happy and changing because we have tickets for Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville restaurant.
There's a fundraiser going on that we are going to. Woohoo!

We get there and the place is rocking with a band and free food and drink. I love New Orleans food. mmmm. Just thinking about it makes me hungry.

We stayed at Jimmy Buffett's long enough to eat, drink and dance. We met a few people and deflated two large inflatable bottles which we then stuffed in a shopping bag to bring home. Oops.

Then we head to Pat O'Briens Piano bar. Now that was one of the highlights of our trip. Those piano players were fabulous, the drinks were yummy...home of the Hurricane. And I got to meet some locals who were so nice and appreciative that we were there and spending our money.

It came time to leave there and we made our way back to Bourbon Street where we head into a place that advertises "Famous Love Acts" on it's sign. So the six of us go in and order drinks and watch the show which turned out to be simulated Love Acts. The boys (my hubby, my girlfriends hubby and my hubby's besst friend from grade school decide they want to leave) so on the way out one of the dancers says to my husband "do you want me to dance for her?" and points at me. I'm like..."Holy shit, how hot would that be for him and this would never happen at home"
To my surprise (and I must admit a twinge of disappointment) he say no and we all head out the door.

And no, it wasn't a gay thing... I just felt like here's an opportunity that's never gonna come up again...we're in the Big Easy...why not?

This is why I should not be left alone to my own devices when I 'm drinking.

So our next landing spot is a bar which we go into, have a drink, and leave heading back to the hotel. We are almost at the hotel and I notice that I do not have my purse...shit...So I go back to the bar and there she be sittin' right on the floor where I left her...I love you little purse, I love you.

Thank God.

We go back to the hotel and K-boy passes out, my hubby and my friends hubby carries him back to his room.

And Thursday comes to a close.

Wait til you hear about Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

P.S. how funny that I left my purse behind but those 3 foot inflatable bottles from Jimmy Buffett's NEVER left my side.


1:02 p.m. - 2006-04-27

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

what you missed - what you're waiting for

|

current bestseller

author info

classic reading

write to me

DiaryLand

Publisher

100 things about ME

Things I want to do before I die

roll the dice

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

other diaries:

alicewonders
sassymcgee
talkingmoon
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
fuck--that
forbidden33
eatmorepizza
alicewonders
teranika
la-the-sage
andnowwhat
lourspete
awittykitty
bindyree
take-two
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
kungfukitten
forbidden33
fuck--that
scotvalkyrie
eatmorepizza
goingloopy
wafflehead
lourspete
toastcrumbs
teranika
la-the-sage
metame
smartypants
andnowwhat
take-two
bindyree
wafflehead
awittykitty
kungfukitten
scotvalkyrie
goingloopy
toastcrumbs
metame
smartypants
katiedoyle

Back, back again. - 2010-08-26

- - 2010-07-27

realization - 2010-04-15

realization - 2010-04-15

Contest - 2010-04-14