Welcome to Reader's World

reader1209's diary

...curl up, snuggle in and get to reading...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Just call me Norma Rae

So, I'm the union steward at work. Which, so far, has meant pretty much nothing. Librarians are, for the most part, not real rebels. We tend to just let things slide.

Our union, on the other hand, was just in the middle of a kerfuffle with the provincial government. Somethin' about pensions and the right to have them increased if the cost of living goes up...blah-di-blah blah. This led to a call for a strike of all public employees that belong to our union. Which meant I had to try and convince 50 or so librarians that walking off the job in an "illegal" strike would be a good thing for them to do.

Yeah.
Can't be done.
I had about 5 out of the 50 who made the attempt to show support. The other 45 or so didn't even want to go to the meeting to find out what we were going to do as a group.

Where exactly is Sally Field when you need her?

Anyway, the union and the province ended up agreeing to disagree and the whole walkout was called off. So, that was one less headache for me.

But there are many other things going on that will fulfill my headache quota.

I need chocolate and lots of it.

Our trip to New Orleans is zooming towards us quickly. G (the hubby) and I were talking about it the other day. We wish we were staying longer than just a long weekend because we would both like to help out down there in some way.
Maybe I'll look into that. I wonder if there is anything we can bring down that would help. We are flying so it wouldn't be anything big but if there is anyone who knows anyone that is down near the French Quarter and they are in need of anything that could be brought on a plane ...let me know.

Maybe I'll email a few people I know that may have contacts there.

I'm tired...

Talk to you soon,

8:17 p.m. - 2006-02-26

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

what you missed - what you're waiting for

|

current bestseller

author info

classic reading

write to me

DiaryLand

Publisher

100 things about ME

Things I want to do before I die

roll the dice

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

other diaries:

alicewonders
sassymcgee
talkingmoon
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
fuck--that
forbidden33
eatmorepizza
alicewonders
teranika
la-the-sage
andnowwhat
lourspete
awittykitty
bindyree
take-two
fangbanger
buggerthat
lostdaddy
marilynstar
kungfukitten
forbidden33
fuck--that
scotvalkyrie
eatmorepizza
goingloopy
wafflehead
lourspete
toastcrumbs
teranika
la-the-sage
metame
smartypants
andnowwhat
take-two
bindyree
wafflehead
awittykitty
kungfukitten
scotvalkyrie
goingloopy
toastcrumbs
metame
smartypants
katiedoyle

Back, back again. - 2010-08-26

- - 2010-07-27

realization - 2010-04-15

realization - 2010-04-15

Contest - 2010-04-14